Grants, foundations and fundraising resources for nonprofits, schools and community groups

Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Every application (e.g. Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel, etc.) has a default font.

For Microsoft Excel (versions 2007 and beyond), the default font for its worksheets is Calibri with a font size of 11.

For Excel on a Mac, the default font is Calibri (Body) with a font size of 12.

Set the Default Font in Excel

Now, it’s only the default font.

You can still change it according to your preferences.

Want it to be Arial? You can do that.

Do you prefer blue over black?

Excel allows you to change the font color.

Do you need a larger font size?

Well, Excel allows you to change the font size too!

That said, it can be annoying and time-consuming to change the font all the time.

What if you have a favorite font?

Or your company wants all documents to have a particular font style, color, and size.

Do you have to change the font every time you work on a new Excel book or sheet?

The answer to that is… no! You don’t have to do it every time.

You can only do it one time and you’ll be set (until the next time you want or have to change the font again).

And you can do this by changing the default font in Excel.

In this article, we will learn how to do just that.

Why Change the Default Font?

There could be any reason why you would want to change the default font in Excel.

It could be as simple and inconsequential as you getting bored of the same old Calibri 11 font.

Or it could be that the company you’re working for is using its own fonts for uniformity and branding strategy.

Maybe you just want your Excel sheets to be unique and personalized, and setting the default according to your preferences is one way to do it.

Or for accessibility purposes, you may have to set a bigger font size for some of your clients (although if not all of your clients, you may want to create a template instead).

Whatever the reason for changing the default font in Excel, the process for doing so is still the same.

Fortunately, it’s really not that complicated.

The best part is you only need to do it once and you're set (until you want or have to change the default font again).

The easier way is to use the Excel options, you can also change the default font by creating an Excel template.

How to Set the Default Font in Excel Using the Options Menu

Of the two methods of changing the default font in Excel, using the options menu is the easier one.

It requires less effort than the other one, which is why it’s probably the preferred method when setting the default font in Excel.

The steps will vary depending on the version of Excel you’re using (2010 and above, 2007, Excel on Mac) but the end result should still be the same.

But don’t worry. I will list the steps on how to use it in these different versions of Excel.

How to Set the Default Font in Newer Versions of Excel (version 2010 and above)

Most Windows PC users are probably using the latest version of Microsoft Office.

Of course, that means that they’re probably using the latest version of Excel.

Fortunately, the most recent versions of Excel have a similar interface for the File menu.

If you’re using the latest or more recent version of Excel (version 2010 and above), here are the steps you need to take to set the default font:

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

That’s it for setting the default font using the File Menu for Excel versions 2010 and above.

How to Set the Default Font in Excel Version 2007

While most Windows PC users are probably using the latest version of Microsoft Excel, some may still be using the earlier versions such as version 2007.

This wouldn’t be an issue if the interface is similar to the recent versions of Excel.

Alas, they are not similar. So the steps above don’t apply to users of Microsoft Excel version 2007.

If you’re one of the users of Microsoft Excel version 2007, here are the steps you have to follow to change the default font:

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

How to Set the Default Font in Excel for Mac

Did you know that the first version of Excel was made for a Macintosh computer (Mac for short)?

You may not believe it but the first version of Excel was released in 1985 for a Mac.

So it shouldn’t be strange that Excel is also available for Mac.

There are differences between the user interface of a Windows PC and a Mac.

This also extends to the interface of Excel for Mac.

If you are a Mac user, here are the steps you need to follow to set the default font:

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

Set the Default Font in Excel

How to Set the Default Font in Excel by Creating a New Template

The other method to set the default font in Excel is to create a new Excel template.

This is a more advanced technique that requires time and effort.

Other than the default font, you can also set background colors, logos, formulae, and other settings for new Excel sheets and workbooks.

This is particularly useful if you have different document formats for your clients. By having a template, you don’t have to format the sheet every time you have to.

Just use the template!

Here are the steps to do so:

Set the Default Font in Excel

This concludes this article on how to set the default font in Excel.

Spotted an outdated link or a mistake? Email editors@fundsnetservices.com and we will review it.